| 19th March 2004 | Modified: 15th October 2014 | Christianity, News Releases | Seen 40 times | Liked 0 times

19 March
Mar 19
19th March 2004

Pope John Paul II and Pat Cox MEP, President of the European Parliament, receive the Charlemagne Prize for great European Achievement  

Please find below the text of a press release from the European Parliament Office in Scotland, for further information, contact:  

John Edward, Head of Office  
European Parliament Office in Scotland  
The Tun, 4 Jackson ´s Entry  
Holyrood Road, Edinburgh, EH8 8PJ  
T: +44 (0)131 557 7866 (9149 from inside EP)  
F: +44 (0)131 557 4977  

Exceptionally in 2004, the Charlemagne Prize - one of the highest European honours - will be awarded twice.  

Next Wednesday, 24 March, an extraordinary Charlemagne Prize will be awarded to His Holiness Pope John Paul II in Rome to pay tribute to his outstanding life's work promoting European understanding in the service of humanity and world peace. The award ceremony will take place in the Vatican from 17.00-18.00 local time.  

Pat Cox MEP, President of the European Parliament, will receive the International Charlemagne Prize on Ascension Day, 20 May 2004, in Aachen City Hall in Germany. The prize is being awarded in recognition of the President's contribution to European integration and, in particular, his work in securing the historic enlargement which will take place on May 1st this year.  

Pat Cox, President of the European Parliament, will attend the ceremony in Rome on Wednesday.  

For further information relating to interviews with President Pat Cox or photographs of the two award winners please contact: David Harley, Spokesman for the President, GSM +32 496 599 453 or Helen Kearns, Press Officer GSM +32 478 585 281  

For more information on the Charlemagne Prize see attached background note.  

Background information  

What is the Charlemagne Prize?  

The International Charlemagne Prize is given in recognition of services to European peace and unity.  

It was established by the City of Aachen in Western Germany in 1949 - at a time when the city was in ruins having been all but destroyed in the closing months of the Second World War.  

Named after the Aachen-born 8th Century Emperor Charlemagne, as a "great founder of Western Culture," the prize marks Germany's commitment to a harmonious post-war continent. It has become one of the most prestigious European honours.  

The official criteria for the prize is that it awarded for contributions fostering mutual understanding among European peoples. Although it can be awarded for literary, scientific, economic or political endeavour, the prize has frequently been given to European leaders noted for their commitment to achieving post-war harmony on the continent.  

The Charlemagne Prize Laureates  

Previous Charlemagne Prize winners include Jean Monnet, Konrad Adenauer, Winston Churchill, George Marshall - who drew up a rescue scheme for post-war Europe - Sir Edward Heath, Lord Jenkins, Henry Kissinger, Dr. Helmut Kohl and Vaclav Havel.  

More recently, the award has been given to the President of the European Convention Valéry Giscard d Estaing in 2003, to the "EURO" represented by the European Central Bank and its President Wim Duisenberg in 2002, to the Hungarian writer and sociologist Györgi Konrád in 2001, to Bill Clinton President of the United States of America in 2000, and to Tony Blair, Prime Minister of the United Kingdom in 1999.  


Peter Kearney  
Catholic Media Office  
5 St. Vincent Place  
G1 2DH  
0141 221 1168  

Posted by . You can also subscribe to email updates.

Like   Back to Top   Seen 40 times   Liked 0 times

Subscribe to Updates

If you enjoyed this, why not subscribe to free email updates ?

Subscribe to News updates

Enter your email address to be notified of new posts:

Subscribe to:

Alternatively, you can subscribe via RSS

‹ Return to News

We never share or sell your email address to anyone.

I've already subscribed / don't show me this again

Recent Posts

Church calls on BMA members to oppose decriminalisation of abortion

| 2 days ago | Blogging

In a letter to Scotland’s catholic parishes, the Director of the Catholic Parliamentary Office, Anthony Horan has urged catholic members of the BMA to sign an open letter to the organisation urging delegates to the BMA conference next Tuesday (27 June) to reject a motion calling for abortion to be...

Catholic Church Safeguarding Review Group established

| 15th June 2017 | Blogging

In December 2016, the Catholic Bishops’ Conference in Scotland announced that Helen Liddell would Chair the Independent Review Group (IRG) set up as a result of the McLellan Commission Report into the current safeguarding policies, procedures and practices within the Church in Scotland.   T...

Funeral of Eilidh MacLeod

| 05th June 2017 | Blogging

The funeral Mass for Eilidh MacLeod, will take place at 11.15am today (Monday 5 June 2017) in the church of Our Lady, Star of the Sea, Castlebay, Barra. Parish Priest, Fr John Paul MacKinnon will celebrate the Mass which will also be relayed to mourners in nearby Castlebay Hall.   In his...

Barra Priest asks islanders to come together and pray together

| 27th May 2017 | Blogging

Fr. John Paul MacKinnon, parish priest on the island of Barra will urge the island community to come together and pray together this weekend as the islands of Barra & Vatersay struggle to come to terms with “a devastating week”.   Preaching at Mass tomorrow (Sunday 28 May) he will say...